Table Tennis Rules: From 21 Points to 11

tennis has been a popular sport for many years, but the rules have changed
over time. Before 2001, a game was played until the age of 21, with rules
similar to those of the current game. However, in 2001, the International
Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) changed the rule and now table tennis matches
are played with a maximum of 11 points. In table tennis, a point is awarded
to a player when the opponent cannot return the ball to his opponent’s side
of the table.

If both players have 10 points, the first
player to gain a 2-point advantage will win the game and, starting from 10 to
10, the server will change every point, instead of every 2 points. If your
opponent allows the ball to bounce more than once on their side of the table,
they will lose the point. As the ball falls, the player must hit it so that
it bounces once in his middle of the table and again on the opponent’s
side.If you’re only playing a game with friends, you can use whatever method
you want to decide, but the official rules of table tennis say that it’s
decided by drawing lots, usually by throwing a coin or a disc with two
different sides. If you trim the edge of the table, that’s your point, but if
you hit one side, it’s your opponent’s.

If the winner
chooses a specific end of the table, his opponent has the option of serving
first or having his opponent serve first. However, if the ball touches the
net and doesn’t bounce off the opponent’s side of the table, the server loses
the point.These rules are reviewed annually by the ITTF and any changes are
normally implemented as of January 1 of the following year, unless another
date is specified. Before 2001, when table tennis was played with 21 points,
each player had five consecutive serves and double was 20-20.Table tennis is
an exciting sport that has evolved over time. The ITTF changed its rules in
2001 to speed up the pace of play and make it more engaging for spectators.

See also  Types of Spin in Table Tennis - How To Apply Them

Nowadays, matches are played with 11 points and players
must be aware of all rules in order to play correctly.